b
leftcover
rightcover
Ruellia megachlamys2.jpg Ruellia yurimaguensis_photo by A. Schmidt-Lebuhn.jpg Ruellia mcvaughii.jpg Ruellia simplex_fruits with retinacula.jpg Phaulopsis barteri_herbarium specimen.jpg Ruellia hygrophila.jpg Mellera submutica_pollen.jpg

Acanth Fact of the Day

A structure called the rentinacula is a modified funiculus that acts like a catapult to launch mature seeds away from the parent plant. This structure is unique and shared among all Acanthaceae in the strict sense.
back
Last Update:
08-17-2011 22:54
Store: 12-31-1969 17:00
Translation: 12-31-1969 17:00
JoomGallery: 12-31-1969 17:00
File repository: 12-31-1969 17:00
Links: 07-19-2007 09:28
Last registration: 02-22-2010 21:11
Last modified by: bryan

Rancho Santa Ana Botanical Garden

Erin Tripp (etripp at rsabg.org)

Lucinda McDade (lucinda.mcdade at cgu.edu)

Carrie Kiel (carrie.kiel at cgu.edu)

 

External Collaborators

 

Salvador Acosta (salvacst at yahoo.com.mx)

Mandy Cadman (strider at icon.co.za)

Mark Carine (m.carine at nhm.ac.uk)

Tom Daniel (tdaniel at calacademy.org)

Iain Darbyshire (i.darbyshire at kew.org)

Cecilia Ezcurra (cezcurra at crub.uncoma.edu.ar)

Jose Grande (monchoenlared at gmail.com)

Cintia Kameyama (ckameyama at uol.com.br)

Ensermu Kelbess (ensermuk2002 at yahoo.co.uk)

Amanda Labadie (illustrator; labadie at ansp.org)

Manuel Lujan (lujananzola at yahoo.com)

Alexander Schmidt-Lebuhn (schmidtleb at yahoo.com)

Mariette Manktelow (mariette.manktelow at ebc.uu.se)

Yu-Min Shui (ymshui at mail.kib.ac.cn)

Deng Yunfei (yfdeng at scbg.ac.cn)

Kaj Vollesen (k.vollesen at kew.org) 

Dieter Wasshausen (wasshaud at si.edu)

 

Webmaster

Ryan Stanfield (rcstanfield at csupomona.edu)