New to the Library Shelves

The RSABG Library regularly acquires new resources that compliment and enhance the collection. Whether we purchase material, receive gifts, donations or exchange with other botanical institutions, the RSABG collections continue to grow.

The public is welcome to visit the library to use the collections and many reference materials. Please contact Irene Holiman, either by email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or phone, (909) 625-8767 ext. 210, for more information or to make an appointment to use the collection.

Library hours: Monday through Friday 9 a.m. until 12 p.m., 1 until 4 p.m.

Read more about the RSABG Library.

 

 


New Acquisitions in Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden Library – Summer 2013

Butterflies of Southeastern Arizona


Butterflies of Southeastern Arizona

by Richard A. Bailowitz and James P. Brock; photographs by Charles A. Hedgcock, R.B.P; foreword by Gale Monson
Tucson: Sonoran Arthropod Studies, Inc., 342 pp. (1991)

The only comprehensive field guide to butterflies in Southeastern Arizona, this book includes 640 life size black and white photographs and four color plates for easy identification of 246 species. Indices to butterflies and larval foodplants compliment the easy to read text covering distribution, flight periods, foodplants and general information.

 

 

 

 

 

chuckwalla webChuckwalla Land: The Riddle of California's Desert
by David Rains Wallace
Berkeley: University of California Press, 280 pp. (2011)

Described as "a writer in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and other self-educated seers" by the San Francisco Chronicle, David Rains Wallace turns his attention in this new book to another distinctive corner of California—its desert, the driest and hottest environment in North America. Drawing from his frequent forays to Death Valley, Red Rock Canyon, Kelso Dunes, and other locales, Wallace illuminates the desert's intriguing flora and fauna as he explores a controversial, unresolved scientific debate about the origin and evolution of its unusual ecosystems. Eminent scientists and scholars appear throughout these pages, including maverick paleobiologist Daniel Axelrod, botanist Ledyard Stebbins, and naturalists Edmund Jaeger and Joseph Wood Krutch. Weaving together ecology, geology, natural history, and mythology in his characteristically eloquent voice, Wallace reveals that there is more to this starkly beautiful landscape than meets the eye.

 

 

The Drucken Botanist: The Plants That Create the World's Great DrinksThe Drunken Botanist: The Plants That Create the World's Great Drinks
by Amy Stewart
Chapel Hill: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 400 pp. (2013)

Sake began with a grain of rice. Scotch emerged from barley, tequila from agave, rum from sugarcane, bourbon from corn. In The Drunken Botanist, Amy Stewart explores the dizzying array of herbs, flowers, trees, fruits, and fungi that humans have, through ingenuity, inspiration, and sheer desperation, contrived to transform into alcohol over the centuries.

 

 

 

 

 

Easy CompostEasy Compost
Brooklyn Botanic Garden Guides for a Greener Planet
edited by Niall Dunne
Brooklyn: Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Inc., 111 pp. (2013)

Easy Compost— the latest handbook in Brooklyn Botanic Garden's Guides for a Greener Planet series— is an ideal reference for the compost-curious and dedicated composters alike, with a special emphasis on the best techniques for city dwellers. This all-new edition of BBG's best-selling 1997 guide will help readers learn the basics of how and where to start a compost system and see photos and detailed descriptions of a wide variety of working examples created for backyards, kitchens, rooftops, community gardens, and schools. Also included are brand new chapters on compost tea, urban composting, and school vermicomposting, as well as detailed carpentry plans for bins.

 

 

 

reptiles webField Guide to Amphibians and Reptiles of California
Revised Edition
California Natural History Guides
by Robert C. Stebbins and Samuel M. McGinnis
Berkeley: University of California Press, 552 pp. (2011)

This user-friendly guide is the only complete resource that identifies and describes all the amphibians and reptiles—salamanders, frogs and toads, lizards, snakes, and tortoises and turtles—that live in California. The species are described in richly detailed accounts that include range maps, lifelike color paintings by Robert C. Stebbins, clear drawings of various life stages including eggs, notes on natural history, and conservation status. Easy-to-use keys for every order help identify species, and informative chapters cover more general topics including evolution, habitat loss, and photography. Throughout, anecdotes and observations reveal new insights into the lives of California's abundant but often hidden amphibians and reptiles.

This book is available through the California Garden Gift Shop.
Read more about the gift shop.

 

Field Guide to California Rivers California Natural History GuidesField Guide to California Rivers
California Natural History Guides
by Tim Palmer; with illustrations by William E. Avery
Berkeley: University of California Press, 330 pp. (2012)

Award-winning author, naturalist, and conservationist Tim Palmer presents the world of California rivers in this practical and inspiring field guide. Loaded with tips on where to hike, fish, canoe, kayak, and raft, it offers an interpretive approach that reveals geology, plant and wild life, hydrologic processes, and other natural phenomena. Palmer reports on conservation with a perspective from decades of personal engagement. More than 150 streams are featured, 50 riparian species are illustrated, and 180 photos show the essence of California's rivers. Palmer brings a natural history guide, a recreation guide, and an introduction to river ecology together in one illuminating volume; it belongs in every river lover's book collection, boat, and backpack.

 

 

 

Flora of the PicoFlora of the Pico das Almas, Chapada Diamantina- Bahia, Brazil
edited by B. L. Stannard
Kew: The Trustees of the Royal Botanic Gardens, 877 pp. (1995)

The Pico das Almas, in the Serra de Espinhaco, is one of the highest peaks in eastern Brazil, with a rich and varied flora including many endemic orchids and bromeliads. Keys and descriptions of over 1,200 vascular plant species so far recorded follow an introduction to the environment and biogeography of the area. 8 color plates and 51 full-page figures enhance the text.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Flora of VirginiaFlora of Virginia
by Alan S. Weakley, J. Christopher Ludwig, and John F. Townsend
edited by Bland Crowder; with illustrations by Lara Call Gastinger, Michael A. Terry, and Roy Fuller
Fort Worth: Botanical Research Institute of Texas Press, 1572 pp. (2012)

The Flora of Virginia describes approximately 3,200 taxa in 200 families and features 1,400 captioned, scaled, and botanically accurate illustrations. Introductory material includes essays on the natural history and vegetation of Virginia and a historical account of botanical exploration in the state, as well as a key to the vascular plant families represented in the Flora. A glossary, bibliography, and comprehensive index are also provided.

 

 




Trees and Shrubs of New Mexico Revised and ExpandedTrees and Shrubs of New Mexico
Revised & Expanded
by Jack L. Carter
Silver City: Mimbres Publishing, 534 pp. (2012)

Designed to assist the educated layperson interested in identifying the New Mexico flora, this new edition includes over 500 stunning full-color photographs, descriptions of 496 species, colorful county maps, over 450 finely detailed illustrations, updated nomenclature and taxonomic information, biographical sketches of noted botanists, and landscaping tips for using native species.

 

 

 

 

The World of Trees

The World of Trees
by Hugh Johnson
Berkeley: University of California Press, 400 pp. (2010)

From well-loved oaks and pines to rare, spectacular species such as the snowbells of Japan, this lavishly illustrated work is an unparalleled guide to more than six hundred of the world's major forest and garden trees. An excellent resource for gardeners, botanists, and general readers alike, The World of Trees is a tribute to natural beauty by a superb prose stylist, an essential reference, and a practical guide for gardening. Hugh Johnson illuminates his subject in thorough and loving detail: the structure and life cycle of trees, how trees are named, trees and the weather, the use of trees in gardens and landscape design, and tree planting and care. The heart of the volume is a compendium of coniferous and deciduous trees grouped by family, describing and illustrating important species and varieties. It also includes a guide to choosing trees for the garden and an A-Z listing of the most important and popular species and varieties.